The Norman church of St John the Baptist is in an idyllic rural setting on the edge of the little village of Churchill, nestling at the foot of the Mendip Hills. Records show that there was a chapel on this site in 1180 but the nave or centre aisle of the church today are all that remain. It is probable that at one time, St John the Baptist Church was in the heart of the village. However, it is believed that Churchill may have been a plague village in the fourteenth century, which would explain why the village appears to have moved away from the church to its present day position.
There is a veritable 'museum' of stained glass from many differing periods. The stone font is believed to be 800 years old, although the wooden font cover was added in 1879 when there was a revival in gothic designs.
One of the most significant and fascinating features of St John the Baptist church must be the remarkably detailed and colourful Latch Memorial which depicts Sarah and Thomas Latch and their 12 children.
The kneelers, said to be some of the finest in the west,
have been designed and made by local people of all denominations during the
last 20 years. They depict the lives of those within the village or associated
to it in some way.
St John the Baptist today continues to serve its community
of Churchill. As well as worship, there is a network of pastoral care, clubs
for children and seniors, Churchill Music! concerts,
a book club, links with local schools and opportunities to develop skills of
bell ringing singing.
Priest in Charge: Rev. Kate Sax, 01934
Wardens: Mrs Trish Avery and Mrs Pam Millward (01934 852239) can
be contacted through Churchill Music! by email at email@example.com.
Visit the website for Langford and Churchill Churches.